CUPE, Jon Gosselin and a little about me

I have not figured out how to post through email so what I do is write down my thoughts (just the good ones, lol) and email them to home so I can paste them here.  Sometimes I forget, and a bunch of them accumulate and you get a post like tonight’s.

The thought behind tonite’s post you ask…

1) Toronto is into day 23 of a STUPID inside/outside workers strike, meaning no garbage pick up, no ferry service to the Toronto islands, no public day-cares and some other stuff which obviously does not impact my world.  Well this union – CUPE – might as well be PooPee – picked the summer, tourist season to strike knowing that stinky garbage should sway public opinion.   Clearly after being offered a 0% increase this year, they think they deserve more…

Sadly, with cool summer weather, and a fair amount of rain, the garbage does not smell.  The City offered them, 1% this year, 2% next year and 3% the following year.  They want more. 

The grass at the park when my 2 and 4 year old play soccer was so tall, a neighbour and I took our push mowers over (another story for another day) and cut the grass.  I wish the City would fire them all and start again…

So I found out yesterday that 500 of them had crossed the picket lines and started working again.  I guess the union bosses (who actually live outside Toronto where there IS garbage pick-up) will have to summon their goons to rough up and harass the “scabs”.  I commend these guys for getting paid to do what they are hired to do.  They are public servants after all…

 

2)  Fans of the show Jon and Kate Plus 8 might understand this… I saw a picture in the tabloids of Jon Gosselin.  Do you not look at this guys picture and feel sorry for him.  His wife, did after all birth 8 kids.  Yet he left her because she was mean to him.  You see pics of him hanging out at College parties and on boats and he just looks like that loser everyone knows who had no friends but was just hanging out everywhere – he stands out.  His 15 minutes of fame are just about up…  Did you know his 23 yr old girlfriend is the daughter of the doctor who performed some plastic surgery on Kate Gosselin on the show!

 

3)  The last part that popped into my head surrounds the “about me” section of this blog.  If I had to do it again, and I know that I can change it, I would probably be more clear about who I am and what I stand for.  I wrote this;

“Welcome into my head.  I blog as an outlet, a release, to voice my thoughts and release the demons in my head to all of you, rather than my wife.  She prefers it this way.

A little about me… I’m a Dad.  My interests include; running, reading, politics, Star Wars, wrestling, cooking shows, law and order.  I have been playing in a ball-hockey league for 20 years.  I hold a masters degree in business administration and my family and I are active volunteers – we like to give our time to help those who need.  We are a very environmentally conscious family.  I work in the finance industry, as a manager, which uses my backgrounds in tax, accounting, project management and securities. 

I love my wife and children but strive to be a better husband, father and human being on a daily basis.   One of my biggest hang-ups is that I get focused on a task and cannot function until I have either over-analysed it, or completed it.  Once it’s done I can get more stuff done, until that time… I’m useless.

I grew up a sheltered boy in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  My first citing of any sort of recreational drugs was when I was in my mid-twenties.  I declined to try it because I don’t give in to peer pressure and I have an addictive personality and as an athlete, don’t want to add anything to my body that might slow me down.  I work and play very hard… I’m the kind of guy who hates to lose way more than I like to win.

For now, that’s pretty much me.  Thanks for taking the time to read it.  Feel free to comment and leave me the “about me” for your blog.  Things you do or have done that you are proud of or want to accomplish in your life, either personal or professional.

Read on.

One comment

  1. Interesting post.
    Totally agree about Jon Gosselin. It seems like just when they were hitting a point when things would get easier he gave up. Seriously. I have found with Matt things got easier at age 5. Chloe is 15 months and it’s HARD. Multiply by 6. Hang in there. You know?
    I like the write up on About Me. Very interesting.
    Leaving the union thing alone – cause of my work.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

