Dear… My “groupies” will do it…

I think I need help. Like real help, not just mental help. LOL.

I’m only human, there is just one of me (who has had a cold for almost 2 weeks now) and I have spent every waking hour working on my Corporate Finance final exam. It is one tough course! I would say I have spent around 15 hours (non-working) so far. And this is only the mid-term exam… I’m so toast for the final exam in 3 weeks if I don’t geta great mark here…

I know the closet (formerly referred to by my wife as “Anne’s place”) is now entering it’s 2nd month of being turned upside down. And everything that used to be in that room was thrown up by the closet into the kid’s play area.

We are taking a trip soon and I need to get the suitcases… I promise I will put om my gear, grab a baseball bat and steel-toed shoes, then head in there to find the goods. If I don’t make it out, please tell my wife I love her.

I am also more than aware that we need to decide if we are going to sell the car, or store it away somewhere for the winter. I need to clean out the garage to make room for the other car, and we still need to remove that giant, yucky, built-in cabinet from the happy boys room. Then, and only then, can we have his new furniture delivered…

Shall I go on? Lots to do and little time. Welcome to my world. Here are some more pressing issues which must be completed ASAP. Ain’t it great being a Dad.

Still to be done; Change the litter, tidy up before the nanny comes home, put away the bag from dinner, did I mention complete my exam?

I already have my fingers crossed that I will be able to double my sleep intake tonight compared to the last 2 nights. I’m just beat!

Top things off, I managed to get myself jammed into the middle of someone’s personal stuff and as a result, have some work-related stress now.

How did I get to be the bad guy??? I listened to someone who had problems, she confided in me, then something went off the track and now she’s spreading rumours about me. OY. Kindergarden…

The story in a nutshell: A female colleague of mine in a troubled long-distance relationship. She was driving long hours on the weekends to visit him, and long hours back Monday mornings to get to the office for 7:30 or 8:00am… From what I could gather from her, the future of this relationship hinged on whether the male was willing to have a child with her. He already has 3 kids from a previous marriage and was, err, fixed. She wants kids. She loves him and his kids.

Problems in their relationship always centred around kids and when they broke up, she was emotionally stressed of which myself and a few other colleagues made ourselves available for many long walks, even more talks and nurturing to get her back on her feet. She did. She even started dating again and started having fun again. She even applied for a big promotion in the TO area and started to move past him and olet her roots set in.

But out of nowhere, without telling any of us who supported her, she changed her Facebook status message to read that she is engaged… To this guy again. It turned out that he promised to have the “procedure” reversed, they have been spending time at his place again and as a result, she stopped talking to her colleagues who helped her at her lowest point.

I remember how happy I was when she smiled for what seemed like the first time in months, she was that upset about the break-up.

So now she’s getting hitched, we all see that from Facebook. ell she claimed to the group of us that he actually changed her status update. Her family do not approve of this relationship based on the stress it caused her.

So why the post? Because the past week in the office she has been avoiding me and word has gotten back that she speaks of “feuds”, witches and goblins, indeed. I feel like I’m back in high-school. You see, I never cared if she broke off with him, married him or didn’t… I have my own life. I helped her out because I felt bad for her, and she needed support.

So now I have no choice but to distance myself from her. I know it’s all very high-school, but that type of behaviour is accepted in this work environment and as a result it can come back to bite me in the ass as I try to move up in the organization.

I’ll just forget it ever happened and count down the days to new opportunities, maybe a new job. I have courses to take and kids to look after at home, I don’t need them at work too.

Oh, and the “groupies” comment…

My wife thinks I have “groupies” at work who do my bidding…

Ah, to have such power…

I wish!

One response

  1. Take it from me who’s been surrounded in the past by many adults posing as children, life’s too short to waste your time on people like her…have fun on your vacay!

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,827 other followers

