I had knocking in the night…

Last night. 11:30pm.

I hear a bedroom door open very quietly, then close just as silently, followed by the pitter patter of little feet, and then the sound of someone knocking on a door. Knocking?!?

Turns out that knocking was the Happy Boy. He was hungry. He left his room in search of someone he could wake up to get hime food. He’s 2 1/2 years old, but he really knows his way around our house, and how to gently wake up one of us, but not both.

So he walked slowly and quietly towards our room (we keep our bedroom door closed so the crying baby won’t wake up the Happy Boy). Which on it’s own is interesting considering the fact that the Happy Boy (Linus) slept through the birth of the Weed (Stewie) at home.

So Happy Boy knocked, and knocked, and knocked until I heard him from the basement where I was playing on the computer.

I called his name, met him at the top of the stairs and he sat on my lap, head in hands and just sighed, said nothing, but sigh. He was very sleepy, I thought he was going to fall back asleep right in my arms. Instead he perked up when I asked him if he was hungry.

He said he wanted “cottage cheese”.

Yup.

Cottage cheese.

So I took him to the kitchen, gave him a big bowl of the stuff, and some slightly warmed milk (he loves that) and after 15 minutes of a midnight snack, we walked back to his bed where he slept like a baby.

Cutie.

Knocking. LOL.

So polite in the night.

Cutie.

2 comments

  1. That is so sweet!
    I remember one time when I was really young – like about 4 – when I couldn’t sleep. My dad brought me into the kitchen and made me warm milk.
    It’s one of those moments I will never forget.

  2. It’s weird how he’s been so hungry lately…every night he wants snacks – cereal or cottage cheese. Crazy.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

